Beck’s Record Club: Yanni’s Live At The Acropolis

Posted on November 20, 2010 |

( Album ) Beck’s Record Club: Yanni’s Live At The Acropolis ( 2010 )

01. Santorini
02. Keys To Imagination
03. Until The Last Moment
04. The Rain Must Fall
05. Acroyali/Standing In Motion
06. One Man’s Dream
07. Within Attraction
08. Nostalgia
09. Swept Away
10. Reflections Of Passion

The fifth installment in Beck’s Record club.

The lowdown on this one:

The original album featured Yanni with a full orchestra at the Athenian Acropolis.

A TV special of the concert was played repeatedly on PBS through the mid 90’s.
To flesh out the complex arrangements, several studio musicians were brought in
to read a heavily doctored score with interpolations of everything from Stravinsky
to Bobby Brown (and others).

Beck and Thurston Moore from Sonic Youth provided auxiliary music and noise,
with Thurston improvising lyrics over the previously instrumental track ‘Santorini.’
Tortoise show up later on a few other tracks.

Look for the complete rerecording of this musical monolith, originally captured
at the bedrock of Western Culture, done here at Sunset Sound Studios on June 13th, 2010.

You can download the previous 4 Record Clubs here, here, here and here.

No announcement yet on the 6th edition of the club or even if there will be a next installment but right now,  Mr. Hansen is asking you to vote for your 10 favorite covers of the past 5 albums which will be turned into a compilation to be released in the near future.

Go to and share your picks.

Bookmark This :


Leave a Reply